Last updated: 1 October 2026
Last verified: 1 October 2026, against the official OpenAI GPT-4o announcement (openai.com/index/hello-gpt-4o).
OpenAI has launched a ChatGPT desktop app alongside its new flagship AI model, GPT-4o. The app pairs a refreshed, conversational interface with an Option + Space keyboard shortcut, in-app screenshot sharing, and GPT-4o-powered Voice Mode — putting AI assistance directly into your daily desktop workflow.
Quick answer
OpenAI has launched a ChatGPT desktop application alongside its new flagship model, GPT-4o, announced at a live stream event on 13 May 2024. The app features a refreshed, intuitive interface with a sleek home screen, an Option + Space keyboard shortcut for instant access, and in-app screenshot sharing for collaboration. It also integrates GPT-4o’s Voice Mode for natural voice conversations. ChatGPT Plus subscribers could download the macOS version immediately; free users were promised access in the coming weeks, and a Windows version was slated for later in 2024.
At a glance
| Fact | Details |
|---|---|
| Made by | OpenAI |
| Type | AI desktop application |
| Launched | 13 May 2024 (announced at OpenAI’s live stream event) |
| Price | Free; ChatGPT Plus (paid tier) for priority access — Plus price not stated in the article |
| Free plan | Yes — available to free users, rollout promised in the coming weeks |
| Availability | macOS first (Plus users); Windows version in the works |
| Best for | Coders, professionals and anyone wanting ChatGPT inside their daily workflow |
| Our rating | Not rated — no hands-on testing performed |
In one line: OpenAI’s ChatGPT desktop app puts a faster, voice-enabled, screenshot-sharing ChatGPT — powered by GPT-4o — right on your desktop.
Key takeaways
- OpenAI launched a ChatGPT desktop app with a refreshed UI, an Option + Space shortcut, screenshot sharing and GPT-4o Voice Mode.
- GPT-4o is natively multimodal — it can process text, images, audio and video.
- Plus subscribers got the macOS app first; free users were promised rollout in the coming weeks and a Windows version was slated for later in 2024.
- Caveat: this was breaking news from May 2024 — availability details have certainly changed since.
In this article
- What is the ChatGPT desktop app?
- How does the ChatGPT desktop app work?
- How does the desktop app compare to using ChatGPT in a browser?
- What are the pros and cons of the ChatGPT desktop app?
- How much does the ChatGPT desktop app cost?
- Our take: the ChatGPT desktop app
- Verdict: is the ChatGPT desktop app worth it?
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources
What is the ChatGPT desktop app?
Buckle up, tech enthusiasts, because OpenAI has just unveiled a game-changing innovation that’s about to revolutionize the way you interact with artificial intelligence (AI). In a groundbreaking live stream event, the company announced the launch of its highly anticipated ChatGPT desktop application, alongside the introduction of the cutting-edge GPT-4o AI model.
This latest development is a testament to OpenAI’s unwavering commitment to making AI more accessible and user-friendly. With the new desktop app, you can now seamlessly integrate ChatGPT into your daily workflow, elevating your productivity and efficiency to unprecedented levels.
How does the ChatGPT desktop app work?
One of the most striking features of the ChatGPT desktop app is its refreshed and intuitive user interface (UI). Here is how you use it, as described in the announcement:
- Step 1: Launch the application to get the sleek and modern home screen and the revamped message layout that makes interactions with ChatGPT feel more natural and conversational.
- Step 2: Press the keyboard shortcut Option + Space to activate ChatGPT instantly and access AI assistance on the fly.
- Step 3: Capture and share screenshots directly within the application — for example, screenshot a puzzling coding error message and let ChatGPT provide insightful solutions and explanations.
- Step 4: Tap the headphone icon in the bottom right corner to use Voice Mode: speak naturally and GPT-4o’s advanced natural language processing will understand and respond, for example when brainstorming a business idea or preparing for an interview.
- Step 5: Get the app — ChatGPT Plus subscribers could access the macOS version from day one; free users were promised rollout in the coming weeks, and a Windows version was slated for later in 2024.
How does the desktop app compare to using ChatGPT in a browser?
| Feature | ChatGPT desktop app | Browser-based ChatGPT |
|---|---|---|
| Instant access | Option + Space keyboard shortcut summons ChatGPT anywhere | Open a browser tab and navigate to ChatGPT |
| Interface | Refreshed UI: sleek home screen, revamped conversational message layout | The standard ChatGPT web interface |
| Collaboration | Capture and share screenshots directly inside the app | Manual copying or file uploads |
| Voice | GPT-4o Voice Mode via the headphone icon for natural spoken chat | No native desktop voice mode |
| Model | Powered by GPT-4o, natively multimodal (text, images, audio, video) | Model depends on your plan |
This comparison reflects the article’s launch announcement: the desktop app’s pitch is instant, workflow-integrated access versus opening ChatGPT in a browser tab. The browser column describes general prior usage rather than claims from the article.
What are the pros and cons of the ChatGPT desktop app?
Pros
- Refreshed, intuitive UI with a sleek home screen and a more natural, conversational message layout.
- Option + Space shortcut plus in-app screenshot sharing make collaboration and problem-solving faster.
- GPT-4o Voice Mode enables natural, human-like voice conversations; available to free and Plus users.
Cons
- macOS only at launch — Windows users were told a version was in the works for later in 2024.
- Free users had to wait weeks for the promised rollout after Plus subscribers.
- As a May 2024 launch report, the availability specifics in this article are now dated.
How much does the ChatGPT desktop app cost?
OpenAI has made it clear that this groundbreaking innovation is not just reserved for a select few. The ChatGPT desktop app will be available to both free and paid (ChatGPT Plus) users, ensuring that everyone has access to this powerful tool.
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | ChatGPT desktop app access (rollout promised in the coming weeks from launch) |
| ChatGPT Plus | Paid — price not stated in the article | Priority access: macOS app available from day one |
Our take: the ChatGPT desktop app
What the article reports: OpenAI’s May 2024 live stream launched the ChatGPT desktop app alongside GPT-4o: a refreshed UI, an Option + Space shortcut, in-app screenshot sharing and Voice Mode — macOS and Plus first, then free users and Windows.
What stands out: the focus on workflow integration. The keyboard shortcut and screenshot sharing show OpenAI positioning ChatGPT as a daily productivity layer, not just a chatbot in a tab.
What’s missing: this is a launch announcement, not a review — there are no download links, no Windows date, no Plus pricing, and no independent testing of the app in the piece.
Bottom line: as a record of the May 2024 launch it is clear and complete; as a guide to getting the app today it is obsolete — check OpenAI’s current download page for what’s available now. Note: this article was originally published on 13 May 2024.
Verdict: is the ChatGPT desktop app worth it?
In the article’s launch-day terms: yes — especially for Plus subscribers on macOS, who got instant, workflow-integrated ChatGPT with voice and screenshot superpowers. For everyone else at the time, the honest answer was “wait for your rollout”. Today, the app is broadly available, so the real verdict is simply: if you use ChatGPT daily, the desktop app is worth installing from OpenAI’s official download page.
Frequently asked questions
The ChatGPT desktop app is OpenAI’s dedicated application that brings ChatGPT to your computer, announced alongside GPT-4o on 13 May 2024. It offers a refreshed interface, an Option + Space keyboard shortcut, in-app screenshot sharing, and GPT-4o-powered Voice Mode.
According to the article, you can activate ChatGPT using the keyboard shortcut Option + Space, making it easier than ever to access AI assistance on the fly.
Yes. OpenAI said the desktop app would be available to both free and paid (ChatGPT Plus) users. Plus subscribers could access the macOS version immediately at launch, while free users were promised a rollout in the coming weeks.
Not at launch. The article reports the initial release focused on macOS, with OpenAI assuring Windows users that a version tailored to their operating system was in the works and slated for release later in 2024.
Sources
- Official OpenAI GPT-4o announcement — checked during this update; confirms the 13 May 2024 launch, GPT-4o’s multimodal capabilities and Voice Mode reported in the article. (The article itself contains no outbound links.)
Arva Rangwala covers AI news, AI tools, guides and prompts for OpenAIMaster — what is new, what is worth using, and how to put AI to work.